A Room for Bebe

13 Jun

Early last year I transformed our second bedroom into a pretty, boudoir-like guest room adorned with bright colors and mirrored accents. Then I got pregnant. Well, I live in a two-bedroom condo and the baby surely can’t sleep in the tub so goodbye guest suite and hello nursery! What did I want? A fun, bright kid-space that would inspire. What didn’t I want? A pastel laden land of teddy bears.

I cannot start a design project without some form of  inspiration. In this case, the gorgeous wallpaper that I had in the bedroom had to stay (my love for this wall runneth deep) but I needed something more than just that – I needed something special, something just for my little one.  A friend of mine introduced me to the work of JHill Design and that’s where I found my “E” – my bright, happy, elephant print. Now I was ready. That’s when I called Jenna of JC Interiors. She’s my creative sounding board and she’s always up for a challenge.

We decided – this would be a hip, bright nursery. We were going to channel my love of India and top it off with a preppy cherry. Working with the existing Morrocan-esque wallpapered accent wall, we flanked the opposing wall with inspirational “E” , which we had blown up and printed on canvas; thus setting the tone for the room.  
 
We chose a bold blue paint color to accentuate our star artwork, and carried the Indian influence to the crib’s bedding by Rikshaw Design, which features darling mini-motifs of elephants, monkeys, and paisley. Knowing that the room needed to stay as functional as possible, we managed to keep all the large-scale practicalities in the space: crib, dresser, glider, temporary guest bed, etc. Since the room had so many furniture items, we kept the design aesthetic fairly monochromatic, with blue and white, so it had a clean and tailored appearance.

For the windows, we opted for blackout roller shades (hello nap time!), banded in blue. We then tied everything together with custom valances and pillows all in the same bohemian inspired fabric. To save on visual space, we opted for a sleek floor lamp with funky drum shade (matched with a ceiling drum too), and brought in a much needed round element in the form of a blue rug in the center of the room. There’s nothing more fantastic and impractical than a three-inch shag rug for a nursery! Top it off with leather elephant bookends, bright children’s books and a Jonathan Adler piggy-bank and voila! A clean, vibrant, hip nursery – exactly what I wanted.

All that’s left is for this little boy blue to make an entrance! Without Jenna leading the creative path I would have never been able to tie a room together like this (especially since she is a textile queen!). If you’re interested in learning more about how Jenna approached the room or how she can help you shape something special of your own – send her an email: jenna@jcinteriors.com 

The countdown continues!

Wink,

Style Girl

30 Responses to “A Room for Bebe”

  1. rikshaw design June 22, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    that nursery is just beautiful and FRESH! love it love it!
    i am going to reblog it and Facebook it..everyone needs to see this i done!
    thanks so much for using Rikshaw I hope your baby just adores it!

    • stylegirlbos June 22, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

      Oh – thank you! We are in love with the room. Your bedding was central to the theme!

  2. Ashley June 23, 2011 at 12:38 am #

    hi- could you please share your source for the roller shades?

    Thanks-

    • stylegirlbos June 23, 2011 at 10:09 am #

      Hey Ashley! Happy to share my source. I actually got the shades on http://www.blindsgalore.com – they were really affordable and you can get the border done in a slew of colors. Shipping was quick and the product arrived in perfect condition too. Good luck!

  3. Sarah June 23, 2011 at 10:43 am #

    Wondering where you got the big elephant??? My little’s girl’s nursery/room is elephant themed, with pink Taj fabric. I love this look for a little boy!

  4. Rachel June 23, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    Just found this AMAZING nursery on Pinterest. I am in LOVE. Pretty please tell me this paint color :)

    Thanks!

    Rachel

    polkadotsandpuppies.blogspot.com

    • stylegirlbos June 25, 2011 at 8:56 am #

      Hi Rachel! Glad you like the nursery! I just visited your blog and it’s great. I can tell you appreciate color too! ;)
      We used Benjamin Moore (Aura): Chicago Blues
      We painted over a coral color and it only took two coats so it was a dream!

  5. cydmckennaCyd June 23, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    Wow, this is a tiny room and you managed to get a crib and bed in it and it still looks awesome! Great job!

    • stylegirlbos June 25, 2011 at 8:40 am #

      Thanks! It is a small room but we were able to make it work by keeping the “baby stuff” at a minimum. We live in Boston in a condo so getting creative with space is important. We’ll leave the bed in there until he needs more play space. At that stage we may move it out.

  6. Shae June 24, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    LOVE…LOVE the nursery for a little boy! Obsessed with the elephant print:) Would you mind sharing where you had the print blown up and printed on canvas? And then did you frame the canvas? Also what size is the blown up print? Thanks so much and dying over your blog!

    • stylegirlbos June 25, 2011 at 8:48 am #

      Hi Shae! Thanks for the note. We are so happy with how it turned out. I worked with Jennifer Hill (the print designer) to get the Elephant print blown up (39×39). I wanted to be sure it was done well. At first I wasn’t going to frame it as I have other canvas pieces in the house that aren’t framed but once I got it home and on the wall I realized that it really needed it. I took a big risk on this one as I couldn’t spend $400 on framing. I took it to Michael’s, picked a white frame and crossed my fingers. Lucky me, it turned out great but still wasn’t too cheap – about $150.
      Keep on reading!

  7. Jamie June 28, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    Hey! I checked the website mentioned for the roller shades, and I am having trouble finding it. Do you remember which roller shade you purchased? I don’t see one with a border…or is that a special request? The room is beautiful by the way!

  8. Lauren June 30, 2011 at 3:28 pm #

    I’m obsessed!!! Where did you get the rug from and the fabric for the pillows??

  9. erin September 26, 2011 at 3:42 pm #

    Hi – I love this room!! I actually purshased the prints from JHill Design but didn’t realize how small they were. I am going to return them. How did you blow up the elephant print?

    Thanks much,
    Erin

    • stylegirlbos December 30, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

      Hi Erin, Sorry for the very late reply to this. I actually worked with the designer, Jennifer Hill, to get it to the 39 x 39 size. I do have some of the smaller prints in the room too. They look great when framed with a bigger border!

  10. Gretchen September 29, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    I’m also in a condo and wondering how I will work a bed into a potential nursery when we have kids. Can you tell me the dimensions of your room? Thanks!

  11. Melanie Arsenault December 30, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    Beautiful space!! I have been looking for the exact bedding you have on that twin bed; would you please share the source? Thanks!

    • stylegirlbos December 30, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      Hi Melanie,

      I got the bedding for the twin bed at Restoration Hardware. I agree – simple, nice linen is very tough to find!!

  12. Ellen December 31, 2011 at 8:52 pm #

    Like everyone else, I am ADORING your room – but am a little late seeing it :) It is just showing up all over my Pinterest board. Can you tell me where you got the awesome floor lamp/drum shade? Thanks!

  13. Erica Cook February 26, 2012 at 12:21 pm #

    Featuring your lovely nursery on little moth. Hope that’s ok. :) Great job.

    • stylegirlbos February 27, 2012 at 3:32 pm #

      But of course! We actually just took the bed out and have transitioned it to the playroom. I’ll be posting pictures soon.

  14. Leigh February 27, 2012 at 10:51 am #

    I’m dying for that exact floor lamp for the girl nursery I’m putting together! Would love to hear where it came from!

  15. Sa May 8, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    Do you mind sharing the name of the blue paint? Thanks!

    • stylegirlbos May 9, 2012 at 8:36 am #

      I beleive it’s “Chicago Blues” by Benjamin Moore

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Giveaway: J.Hill Designs Personalized Print | The Wall Street Geek - June 22, 2011

    [...] has some great other prints, here is one of her animal alphabet prints used in a cute nursery from Style Girl Boston. I’m working on a couple nurseries right now and they might be my favorite room to decorate [...]

  2. Blue Baby Nursery - All Things Myanmar Burmese - September 28, 2012

    [...] stylegirlboston.wordpress.com via SCB on [...]

  3. in jen’s baby bag: a jhill nursery! | Travel with JHill Design - October 12, 2012

    [...] I was so flattered when Jamie said that our “E is for Elephant” print was the inspiration for her GORGEOUS nursery. She had us enlarge the E design and print it on canvas for her. She then framed the canvas, which I think looks amazing. I love her color scheme, wall paper and that little elephant hiding in the corner. You can read more about her nursery decoration project at style girl boston. [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 837 other followers

