You Are Here

19 Oct

I’m feeling reflective.

There are so many things that I want to do and so many places that I want to go. Sometimes, in my rush to next adventure, I miss the things that are going on around me. I’m not alone in this. I think that “idea people” often have a very hard time appreciating the here and now. So, how can one be more “present”? How can you maximize all of the opportunity around you? Here are a few things that I do to keep me centered and invested…

Journal – there is amazing power in journaling. Expressing your hopes, fears and thoughts in writing is extremely therapeutic. I’m inspired by pretty journals and stationery. The right tools certainly make it more fun! Here are a few of my favorites:

Smythson – British and beautiful

Paper Source – Carries several styles that will look great as a table accessory (if nothing else…)

Black Ink – this funky shop with locations in Beacon Hill and Harvard Sqaure carries a lot of artistic options

Kate’s Paperie – this is one of my favorite shops in NY but don’t despair – you can shop online too..

Learn – I’m a life learner – always taking classes and reading up on something new. Invest in yourself by nurturing your interests! Check out some local classes offered at adult learning centers such as the BCAE and the CCAE – from cooking and photography to creative writing, you’ll be amazed at all the different classes that are offered. Or, if you’re really ready for a task, take on a Master’s program at one of the many colleges and universities in the area. You can’t use lack of options as an excuse, that’s for sure!

Give time – giving back to the community is one of the most fulfilling things you can do. I spend a lot of time with the Boston Public Library, Junior League of Boston and Dress for Success. Not sure where to start? Looking for a perfect volunteer opportunity? Check out Volunteer Match and Idealist.org. Both sites let you input specifications that result in a list of opportunities that reflect your interests. Still not finding anything? Look local – volunteer at a local school or animal shelter.

Center – I have never successfully meditated and I generally have a hard time sitting still. I am, however, inspired and motivated by a little namaste and zen. Taking time to relax and strengthen your body and mind is so important. For many this is achieved through yoga or other physical exercise. Having a hard time getting motivated? Look for team training opportunities at your gym or find a gym buddy who will keep you on track. Sometimes finding the right environment is the key to success. I enjoy yoga at Back Bay Yoga and South Boston Yoga. Both centers have great instructors and wide open spaces to find a little “ohm” in your life.

Friends – this is last but certainly not least on my list. To enjoy your life every day, surround yourself with people who make you happy. Take time to stay connected: create a standing monthly dinner appointment with friends, call a friend to say hello (versus a quick text) or send a card. Maintaining relationships is work – but it is the most rewarding work you’ll ever do.

By focusing on some of these things, I have accepted where I am. I also feel grounded and supported.

So, where are you?

Wink,

Style Girl

Leave a Reply

