Pretty As a Bow

26 Oct

I don’t know if you’ve noticed but bows are everywhere this season. On bags, on shoes, on belts – everywhere. I am not usually one to wear bows. They can seem a bit over the top and junior to me. That being said, I am becoming a convert. I am really fond of the ways that designers are using bows this season. For example, the other day I was wearing a great dress that required a belt. I’m not sure what I was thinking when I left the house but what I had put on simply did NOT work. I need a quick fix and I needed it fast. This is when I’m thankful for the chain shops. I wandered into Anthropologie and picked up this beauty. Voila! Problem outfit solved.

Other ways to wear bows? I love bows on headbands. Depending how they are worn they can look very elegant (warning: it’s also easy to look like a 5-year-old so be careful here!). Here is one of my favorites from Ralph Lauren and here is one that I love from Top Shop but just don’t have the gusto to pull off. Here’s another feature on headbands from In Style magazine that might help inspire you.

Every other pair of shoes I see seems to have a bow on it. Louis Vuitton had one of the hottest bow adorned shoes on the runway and in Hollywood this fall. I only wish they were in my closet too! You can also find this look on loads of ballet flats available this season. From Nine West to Prada, you’ll be able to find a pair to suit your budget and style.

And on handbags. When it comes to bows, I prefer the smaller clutch bags. Some can be really fun –  a bit rocker and 80s. Check out this Chole bag that carries the perfectly balance between feminine and punk.  You can always count on Betsy Johnson to create something wild and perfect for the party. I love this one! And then there are the more simply stated bow purses that are a little more “day” appropriate such as this beautiful bag from Kooba (swooon).

So don’t fear the forever girly bow. Tie one on!

Wink,

Style Girl

Leave a Reply

