Shine On

14 Nov

Today I am writing about my LOVE of sequins. If you haven’t noticed that sequins pieces are all over the stores this season then you must live in a cave. This trend is great…it’s fun, feminine, flirty and practical! There was a feature in the Wall Street Journal a few weeks ago that talked about the Hollywood trend of playing “dress-down” – basically wearing sequins dresses with leather boots, wearing sequins to work and pairing ball gowns with leather jackets. To me, this illustrates that as much as there are rules in fashion, the rules are there to be broken. I actually rocked this trend all weekend and it was effortless:

Friday night (dinner in NYC) – I wore black suede booties, black opaque tights, a grey sequins skirt, a beige cashmere sweater and a light pink skinny belt. Topped with a grey leather coat. Black sparkle clutch.

Saturday night (dinner and theatre) – I wore my black suede booties (umm, love these btw – got them at Banana Republic – check them out), green opaque tights, a black sweater dress with a silk bubble skirt, and my favorite new chandelier earrings. Topped with a grey leather coat. Black sparkle clutch.

Sunday afternoon (kicking around town) – I wore my high black leather boots, my black tights, my new beige sequins tee, my long turquoise cardigan and a black and white cowhair skinny belt. Topped with a black shawl and some stacked sparkly bracelets.

Now, I don’t necessarily think that sequins is required daily, but I do think that this is a fun way to mix up your look. Whether you invest in a higher end piece (like this fab Nanette Lepore mini) or some shiny sweaters from J Crew, definitely pull some of this sparkle into your closet. It isn’t just for holiday anymore!

Wink,

Style Girl

Leave a Reply

