New Year! New and Improved You!

2 Jan

Happy 2011! I’m not sure where 2010 went but it’s gone and it’s time to focus on all things new and shiny. I’m not a huge believer in resolutions because I think that people generally aim too high which only leads to a big pool of failure by March. I do, however, believe in setting goals and in constantly trying to better yourself.

There are a few things that I do that I think help direct my new year energy in a productive, positive way (versus a “I will lose 10 lbs in a month” way – which you won’t, btw). Here are a few tips. Try them on for size!

Create monthly and quarterly (seasonal) goals – breaking them down into smaller, more manageable time frames will increase your chances for success

Share your goals with others – accountability is a beautiful thing. Share your goals with close friends or family members so they can check in with you and keep you in track

“Small wins” – celebrating small wins is a great way to reach larger goals incrementally and stay positive. Instead of the  “I will lose 10 lbs in a month” goal, put measurable steps in place that you can celebrate as small wins. Some of these may include “go to the gym 3x a week”; “cut down to one cup of coffee a day”; “drink at least 6 glasses of water a day”, etc. All of these changes will lead you to losing 10lbs and you’ll feel positive and productive along the way.

Your life changes, so should your goals – keep your goals real and flexible. If you get a new job, you may not be able to take the pottery class you wanted to take. If your car breaks down then you may not have the money to go to Aruba in February. That’s all ok! It doesn’t mean that these goals and plans can’t play out, it just means that they need to play out in different ways than that which you originally planned.

Journal – journaling takes time and patience. It should be a positive, creative, supportive outlet. If it doesn’t help you, don’t do it. That being said – I love it and I journal for about 10 minutes almost daily. It helps to keep me centered and reflective. Give it a try if you haven’t.

Keep yourself organized – it is time to get organized, get disciplined and keep yourself on track. Use your calendar, make lists, take time out once a week to pay your bills, call your long-distance friends and buy your groceries. Chaos is infectious so avoid it by staying on task and taking the time to keep your world sane. I live by my lists and they have never done me wrong.

I hope some of these help you see through the heavy green “New Year” trees. Setting real, meaningful goals will get you where you want to go. Just remember that paths change!

Here’s to a great year!

Wink,

Style Girl

Leave a Reply

