London Catwalk

22 Feb

Most of you know that I adore London. Actually, I am slightly obsessed with it. Having spent some time there I appreciate its fine balance between classic and edge in everything from its sights and sounds to fashion and culture. London is truly a unique place that lends for an amazing melting pot of a runway.

I tend to think that London Fashion Week is one of the best going. It never disappoints – always creative in profiling interesting designers who have something a little different to say.  The looks coming down the runway spanned taste and palette and while it isn’t as much fun to look at leather, coats and wool right now  (I’m dreaming of summer…), it was still interesting to see some of the creative concepts and upcoming trends: feathers, fur, neutrals, bright color accents, military and floral. 

What caught my eye? I am loving the looks from Jaeger London and desperately want one of Mary Katrantzou’s TopShop t-shirts. I also think the Matthew Williamson , Antipodium and  Sophie Hulme shows were gorgeous and that House of Holland delivered a much-needed burst of fun. I also love how Paul Smith plays with menswear as inspiration. I was a bit saddened by Twenty8Twelve (Sienna Miller’s line) – it was so drab. Come to think of it, there was a lot of gray out there.

If you’re interested in British designers and what’s hot across the pond, read up on the British Fashion Council where you can find a load of information about British talent. If you’re looking for some reasonably priced Britishwear stateside check out some of my faves: Reiss, Ted  Baker, Top Shop and Karen Millen .

Wink,

Style Girl

Leave a Reply

