Oscar Hits and Misses

29 Feb

Like 41+ million other people, I too watched the Academy Awards on Sunday night. It is by far one of my favorite television nights of the year.  The event took on an old theatre theme this year that I just loved. Between Billy Crystal’s somewhat fun attempt at musical numbers, the Muppets, Cirque du Soleil and the gorgeous dresses I was kept well entertained.

Like any good viewer, I settled in around 5:30 with Ryan Seacrest and the E! team to watch the red carpet. It’s probably the best part of the night. I was a little distracted by Kelly Osbourne’s hair (I can’t believe she kept it like this for the whole awards season – tragic), Giuliana’s large smiley face and the swarm of cleaners that attacked Ryan after The Dictator spilled “ashes” on him  but all in all it was a good pre-show. So what were some of the hits and misses this year? Well, if you want an official review you can check out E! but I think my review is just as good.

HITS

Let’s give some props to Giuliana Rancic who was sporting a gorgeous Tony Ward number. Those sleeves!

Oh Gwyneth. I have such a girl crush on you. Your white Tom Ford dress was amazing and although the cape interfered with your posture a bit, you looked regal

Viola Davis is not only talented but she is a stunner. This green Very Wang dress was exceptional – love the top

One of my favorite dresses of the night was worn by Jessica Chastain. A relative newcomer, she rocked the red carpet in this classy Alexander McQueen gown

Leslie Mann may not be a true A list celebrity but she certainly acted the part on Sunday. This Roberto Cavalli dress was amazing and I love the navy

I really loved the bronze sequins dress worn by Ellie Kemper. This Armani Prive number was hot!

Tina Fey looked the prettiest I have ever seen her look. Her black, classic Carolina Herrara gown was perfect for her and I just loved her hair

Octavia Spencer  was one of the prettiest women on the carpet. Her Tadashi Shoji gown shined like a star and was flattering for her figure

MIXED EMOTION

Let’s talk about the red on the carpet (no pun intended). I loved the color on each of these three ladies but the looks were a bit off. Emma Stone has impressed me over the past two years with her red carpet style but something about her red Giambattista Valli dress threw me off. That bow was bigger than her head! Natalie Portman looked sweet in her big red Dior gown but polka dots for the Oscars?? Not so sure. I also didn’t like her necklace with the dress…it didn’t match.  Those of you who read often know that I love Louis Vuitton and Michelle Williams’ dress was very pretty but I didn’t love the odd sparkle adornment at the waistline and the most off-putting part about her look on the red carpet was her hair – where is it?? Time to grow it back sweetie

I am torn on Stacy Keibler’s dress. Everyone is talking about how amazing she looked  in her Marchesa’s single-strap gold lamé column gown but the color is too chinzy for my taste and the big flower is distracting and somewhat unflattering on her (maybe this is jealousy talking)

Angelina Jolie needs to gain some weight. Her super sexy Atelier Versace gown shouted movie star but her skinny arms took away from her look (and her weird leg poses on stage didn’t help)

MISSES

Can Jennifer Lopez wear something that covers her? Her Zuhair Murad dress didn’t work. I’m over the plunging neckline and the stripes were distracting

Dear Meryl – I understand that you are an older woman but that doesn’t mean that you need to wear a gold drape around your body. Horrid

Not to be mean, but the Valentino Couture on young actress Amara Miller was so drab. Where was the color for this young starlet?

I usually am a huge fan of Elie Saab but this dress that Berenice Bejo wore was unfortunate. The color was ok but the beading was confusing

Sandra Bullock’s Marchesa dress didn’t fit. It simply didn’t fit…who styled her? They’re fired

Rooney Mara is dark and interesting…yeah, yeah…we know…it’s a shock that she didn’t wear black. That being said, where is her jewelry? She is so bland in her Givenchy gown. She looks like a glass of milk

Anyway, I could go on and on. Love, love the Oscars. Maybe someday I’ll go like my friend Reshma did this year. She looked very pretty herself – even without the stylist.

Wink,

Style Girl

One Response to “Oscar Hits and Misses”

  1. Jo February 29, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    Emma Stone grabbed my best dressed vote – loved the bow!

Leave a Reply

